IIT FoundationEnabling World Class Excellence at IIT Kharagpur
One Initiative, One Action, One Day at a Time

2002 Nomination Announcement

April 23, 2002

The Nominating Committee of the IIT Foundation, consisting of Suhas Patil, Arjun Malhotra and Arvind Jain, is pleased to announce the appointment to leadership positions on the IIT Foundation Board of Directors for the 2002-2004 term.

During the nomination process, the committee received information on a number of eminently qualified individuals from both the United States and India. The committee's decisions were based upon the candidates’ past volunteer service to the Foundation, their familiarity with the workings of the IIT Foundation, their connectivity with IIT Kharagpur and their geographical location in the United States.

The IIT Foundation invites all the nominees and other alumni to strengthen their ties to the IIT Foundation and to IIT Kharagpur by volunteering their time and resources for IIT Foundation activities. We invite you to participate in IIT Foundation activities, particularly by getting involved with the local chapters in Chicago, Houston, New York, Silicon Valley, Southern California and Seattle.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. Parvati Dev (1968 ECE SN), Ms. Jayashree Saha (1970 ECE SN) and Mr. Shailendra Kumar (1987 ME RK) to the leadership of the IIT Foundation Board.

Dr. Parvati Dev, President

Parvati was recently appointed Associate Dean of Learning Technologies for the medical school at Stanford University. She has been Director of the SUMMIT group at Stanford University since 1990, exploring innovative applications of computing in the medical curriculum. Recently, her work has focused on application of simulation as a training modality, and on the delivery of multi-person simulations over the Internet. Prior to that she directed research and product development at a medical imaging company, now owned by Kodak. She is on advisory boards for the Universities of North Carolina and Pittsburgh, is a fellow of the American College of Medical Informatics, and is a member of professional associations such as ACM and IEEE. Parvati received her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in the area of computer models of the brain and B. Tech in Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering from the IIT Kharagpur. Parvati has been an active Board Member and Chairperson of the Grants Committee of IIT Foundation since 1999.

Mr. Shailendra Kumar, Vice-President/President-Elect

Shailendra ("Shail") Kumar was the CEO and co-founder of Shop911 Inc, which he sold in 2001. Prior to that, Shail was at Applied Materials in Corporate Strategy Development, Global Operations & Planning, and Corporate Finance roles. He was the Program Manager for the company's strategic and annual planning and a company-wide cost reduction campaign. He also has business development and financial management experiences from FMC Corp. and international operations experience from Eicher Goodearth, India. Shail has an MBA from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University, Bloomington and a B. Tech. from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur. Shail is currently the Interim Vice President of IIT Foundation. He has been an active board member since 2000 and an active volunteer for the Silicon Valley Chapter for the past ten years.

Ms. Jayashree Saha, Secretary

Jayashree graduated from IIT Kharagpur in 1970 with B.Tech. in Electronics and Electrical Communications Engineering. After working in India for a few years in Consumer Electronics, she moved to the USA and joined the aerospace industry in Los Angeles as a design engineer on projects for the Space Shuttle projects and Satellite Communications. During the time she got a degree in MSEE in Digital Signal Processing from Northrop University (sponsored by TRW). She then spent the next 15 years in the Semiconductor industry at Texas Instruments. For five years, she was based out of Taipei overseeing an all-Asia operation. She has spent the last three years in the Telecommunications and broadband access field. She has one married daughter who is doing a Ph.D. in Public Health at Berkeley and her son-in-law has just completed his Ph.D. in Entomology. Jayashree loves swimming, walking on the beach, and traveling. Jayashree has been a member of the IIT Foundation board since 2001.

Dr. Arvind Jain, Treasurer

In addition, Dr. Arvind Jain, the 2000-2002 President of the IIT Foundation, takes on the role of the Foundation's Treasurer. Arvind has been a pioneer of IIT Kharagpur alumni activities in the U.S. for the past twenty years. A 1969 B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering from IIT Kharagpur, Arvind was an outstanding student and a keen participant in extra-curricular activities at Kharagpur. He was on the editorial board of Impact, an independent campus magazine run by students during the sixties, President of the Mechanical Engineering Society in his final year, and the winner of his year's B.C. Roy Gold Medal. He holds Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Operations Research from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, and is the author of several papers in non-linear optimization computation. Arvind is a strategic consultant in the aluminum and resource industries based in Pleasanton, California. His professional career includes Kaiser Aluminum where he was a Vice-President, SRI International, Stanford University, and ICI India.