IIT FoundationEnabling World Class Excellence at IIT Kharagpur
One Initiative, One Action, One Day at a Time

IIT Kharagpur to Present Dr. Praveen Chaudhari, Director of Brookhaven National Laboratory with the Distinguished Alumnus Award

IIT Foundation Logo

IIT Kharagpur to Present Dr. Praveen Chaudhari, Director of Brookhaven National Laboratory with the Distinguished Alumnus Award

New York, New York, USA -- May 18, 2004:

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur will present Dr Praveen Chaudhari, Director of Brookhaven National Laboratory with its prestigious Distinguished Alumnus Award. Dr. Shishir Kumar Dube, Director of IIT Kharagpur, will present this award to Dr. Praveen Chaudhari at a special Alumni Recognition Dinner in New York on May 26th, 2004. Dr. Madhu Chakraborty, Dean of Alumni Affairs and two senior faculty members will also join Dr. Dube at this event.

"IIT Kharagpur alumni have established themselves as trailblazers and leaders in research, academics and innovation around the world. Dr. Praveen Chaudhari is an exemplary IIT Kharagpur alumnus who has made IIT Kharagpur and its alumni proud by his distinguished service and achievements," said Parvati Dev, President of the IIT Foundation, Associate Dean of Medical Learning Technologies at Stanford University.

Dr. Praveen Chaudhari is currently Director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Brookhaven National Laboratory, effective April 1, 2003. Dr. Chaudhari joined Brookhaven Lab after 36 years of distinguished service at IBM as a scientist and senior manager of research. During his IBM career, he served as Vice President of Science, Director of Physical Science and Research Staff Member. He has been responsible for major laboratory operations in New York, California and Switzerland, leading research teams in such areas as nanoscience and superconductivity.

For his achievements, Dr. Chaudhari has been honored with a number of awards. Some of these include: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc., Morris N. Liebmann Memorial Award (1992); the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Harry C. Gatos Distinguished Lecture and Prize (1994) in the field of electronic materials research; and the National Medal of Technology (1995) awarded by President Clinton for "the discovery and development of a new class of materials the amorphous magnetic materials that are the basis of erasable, read-write, optical storage technology, now the foundation of the worldwide magnetic-optic disk industry." Dr. Chaudhari is a Member of the National Academy of Sciences, The National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Third World Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Purnendu Chatterjee, Chairman of Chatterjee Group, another exemplary IIT Kharagpur alumnus and tri-state based IIT Kharagpur alumni are hosting the recognition dinner at the Jewel of India restaurant on May 26, 2004. The dinner is open to all IIT Kharagpur alumni and their spouses.

About IIT Kharagpur:

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, was established as the first IIT in 1951. Kharagpur is situated less than 75 miles south-west of Kolkata, India. IIT Kharagpur has transformed from a symbol of national struggle for freedom to an Institute of national importance and global impact and its alumni are shaping technology, industry and society around the world. (visit http://www.iitkgp.ernet.in for more information)

About IIT Foundation:

The IIT Foundation is a US based non-profit organization set up to enable IIT Kharagpur maintain and enhance its pre-eminent status as a world class institute. (visit http://www.iitfoundation.org for more information)

Contacts: Dr. Parvati Dev or Mr. Shail Kumar at info@iitfoundation.org

Key Words: IIT Kharagpur, Dr S. K. Dube, Dr. Praveen Chaudhari, Dr. Purnendu Chatterjee, Distinguished Alumnis Award, IIT Foundation

Source: IIT Foundation